Cancer vaccines clinical trials for dogs and cats

Cancer vaccines are treatment, not routine vaccination against an infectious disease. Some use a shared tumor target. Others are made from an individual animal’s tumor or are given as part of a larger immune-treatment protocol.

19current studies and treatment programs in this category

A vaccine study may require saved tumor tissue, measurable disease, surgery or standard chemotherapy. The word vaccine alone does not tell us whether a study is appropriate or how much evidence supports it.

Read the practical guide to veterinary cancer vaccines

Current listings

One study may appear under more than one treatment type when it combines approaches. Review the full eligibility criteria and confirm current enrollment with the study team.

Vaccine plus chemotherapy after amputation for canine appendicular osteosarcoma

University of Florida · USA

Currently enrolling

What is being offered: Distinct from UF's RNA-nanoparticle/anti-PD-1 radiation protocol: this vaccine is given at six visits about three weeks apart alongside six chemotherapy visits scheduled two weeks before each vaccine visit. Boosters may be offered every six months if appropriate. Eligibility evaluation does not guarantee enrollment; the referring veterinarian must complete UF's Oncology Referral Form.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Appendicular location; Planned amputation and chemo

Costs / coverage: ⚪ Owner-paid. Owners pay for the eligibility evaluation, amputation, chemotherapy, six study vaccine doses, additional diagnostics and subsequent visits. No financial incentive is offered. The study covers only treatment of a vaccine injection-site reaction, up to $100; no other costs are covered.

Contact: UF Oncology Staff — (352) 392-2235 to schedule an evaluation; Study Interest Form and required referring-veterinarian Oncology Referral Form on the official protocol page; VM-ClinicalStudies@ufl.edu for restricted-medication details

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

RNA-nanoparticle vaccine plus anti-PD-1 for canine appendicular osteosarcoma

University of Florida · USA

Currently enrolling

What is being offered: RNA-nanoparticle vaccine made from UF-collected tumor cells plus anti-PD-1, both administered by approximately 30-minute IV infusion; hospital monitoring for 6–24 hours after each vaccine administration. Core biopsy is performed during radiation-planning CT before radiation. Distinct from UF's owner-paid post-amputation vaccine-plus-chemotherapy protocol. Referring veterinarian must complete UF's Oncology Referral Form.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Planned radiation; Pretreatment biopsy; Appendicular location

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Owners pay standard diagnosis and treatment, including initial evaluation, diagnostics, imaging, bloodwork, and radiation planning/treatment. The study covers RNA-vaccine production, vaccine-associated exams, immune-marker and safety laboratory testing at vaccine visits, indicated urinalysis, and adverse events on vaccine-administration days. Selected cases may receive imaging and/or radiation coverage. For immediate anaphylaxis within 12 hours of vaccination, up to an additional $1,000 of complication treatment may be covered.

Contact: UF Oncology Staff — (352) 392-2235; Study Interest Form / Oncology Referral Form on the official study page

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

Vaccine study for dogs with splenic hemangiosarcoma

University of Florida · USA

Currently enrolling

What is being offered: Splenic HSA after splenectomy; treatment-naive and able to receive standard doxorubicin chemotherapy. Vaccine is added to standard care.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Post splenectomy; Planned doxorubicin; Splenic primary

Costs / coverage: ⚪ Owner-paid. Owners pay the oncology evaluation, surgery, histopathology, bloodwork, imaging, chemotherapy and six vaccine doses (public page estimate: approximately $1,275). The study covers only treatment of a vaccine injection-site reaction, up to $100.

Contact: UF Oncology Staff — (352) 392-2235; Study Interest Form / Oncology Referral Form on the official study page

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

Vaccine study for dogs with melanoma

University of Florida · USA

Currently enrolling

What is being offered: UF currently lists a canine melanoma vaccine study.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Resectable or minimal

Costs / coverage: ⚪ Owner-paid. Owners pay in advance for the vaccines and initial examination and remain responsible for subsequent visits; six-month booster vaccines carry an additional charge. The prescreening oncology evaluation is also owner-paid.

Contact: UF Oncology Staff — (352) 392-2235; Study Interest Form / Oncology Referral Form on the official study page

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

RNA nanoparticle vaccine for feline oral squamous cell carcinoma

University of Florida · USA

Currently enrolling / limited enrollment

What is being offered: Histopathologic confirmation and staging imaging are required before screening, and UF Oncology must evaluate the cat. The protocol excludes advanced local or metastatic disease and major systemic comorbidities. Immune-modulating medications or supplements require investigator approval and may require a washout.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; No metastasis

May not qualify if: Advanced disease; Major systemic comorbidity

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded — the study covers all 3 vaccine-administration visits, associated examinations and pre/post bloodwork, immune monitoring, supportive care, 1- and 3-month rechecks, and any booster-vaccine administration. Owners pay for the initial study evaluation/diagnostics and standard SCC treatment, including surgery, chemotherapy or radiation.

Contact: UF Clinical Studies — complete the Study Interest Form on the official trial page; UF Oncology Staff: (352) 392-2235

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

Novel vaccine versus carboplatin after amputation for canine appendicular osteosarcoma

Ethos Veterinary Health · USA

Now enrolling patients

What is being offered: Appendicular OSA; age >=1 year, >=44 lb, otherwise in good general health; cytologic/histologic confirmation. Current Ethos owner page lists 9 enrolling hospitals. An older AVMA registry listing contains additional historical sites; those are not promoted without current site-level confirmation.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min weight lb: 44; Active tumor required; Appendicular location; Min age years: 1; Planned amputation

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. All study-related visits are covered, including up to $4,000 toward amputation.

Contact: Contact participating Ethos hospital through official study page.

Participating locations

  • Colorado Animal Specialty & Emergency, 2972 Iris Ave, Boulder, CO 80301
  • First Coast Veterinary Specialists & Emergency, 301 Jacksonville Dr, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
  • Metropolitan Veterinary Hospital, 734 Alpha Dr, Highland Heights, OH 44143
  • Metropolitan Veterinary Hospital, 1053 S Cleveland-Massillon Rd, Akron, OH 44321
  • Massachusetts Veterinary Referral Hospital, 20 Cabot Rd, Woburn, MA 01801
  • Mission Veterinary Emergency & Specialty, 5914 Johnson Dr, Mission, KS 66202
  • Peak Veterinary Referral Center, 158 Hurricane Ln, Williston, VT 05495
  • Southeast Veterinary Oncology & Internal Medicine, 304 Corporate Way, Orange Park, FL 32073
  • Veterinary Specialty Hospital - North County, 2055 Montiel Rd, San Marcos, CA 92069

Official study / enrollment information →

GD2/3 melanoma vaccine + anti-PD1 (gilvetmab) for oral malignant melanoma

University of Florida Veterinary Hospitals · USA

Currently recruiting

What is being offered: GD2/3 vaccine plus four IV gilvetmab infusions; serial tumor biopsies and immune monitoring

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Resectable or minimal; Oral tumor not excised

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. The study covers the anti-PD-1 drug and study-related tumor biopsies; owners pay for vaccines, exam, staging and other treatment costs.

Contact: UF Oncology — 352-392-2235; Study Interest Form + referring-veterinarian Oncology Referral Form required

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →

Zika-virus vaccine + autologous tumor-lysate vaccines for high-grade canine glioma

University of Minnesota Canine Brain Tumor Program · USA

Open and enrolling

What is being offered: Two vaccine doses before surgical tumor removal, followed by three postoperative vaccine doses; MRI monitoring every 16 weeks.

Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Planned surgery; Min weight kg: 3; Max weight kg: 45; Single telencephalic glioma on mri; radiation washout: 84 days; immunotherapy washout days: 42 days; surgery washout days: 28 days

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Study covers surgery, postoperative MRI/care and infusions; owner pays pre-enrollment thoracic/abdominal screening and diagnostic brain MRI.

Contact: Canine Brain Tumor Program: cbtp@umn.edu

Location

  • University of Minnesota Veterinary Medical Center, 1365 Gortner Ave, St Paul, MN 55108

Official study / enrollment information →

Experimental EGFR/HER2 tumor vaccine

Therajan / participating veterinary oncology centers · USA

Currently enrolling at nine confirmed sites; Chicago, Richmond and Missouri are not enrolling

What is being offered: USDA-regulated EGFR/HER2 peptide-vaccine study led by Therajan. The current Canine Cancer Alliance status page identifies nine locations without a non-enrolling warning: Ventura, Edmonds, Pullman, Salt Lake City, Cleveland, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Phoenix and Stamford. Its same roster marks Chicago, Richmond and Columbia, Missouri as currently not enrolling. Stamford was separately confirmed on Veterinary Cancer Concierge Services' current trial page, which provides its intake pathway, eligibility materials and appointment location. Site-specific eligibility, scheduling and costs vary; MedVet restrictions apply only to its hospitals. Bridge also considers pulmonary carcinoma and high-grade mast cell tumor after records review, but those site-only indications are not mapped to the shared protocol record.

Who may qualify: Anticipated survival over 3 months; Standard of care therapy; Histology or long bone osa exception

May not qualify if: Other immunotherapy; Alternative therapy; Other clinical study

Costs / coverage: The investigational vaccine is provided at no charge; site visits, conventional treatment, administration and monitoring may be owner-paid. VCCS publishes a $695 charge for each vaccine appointment plus required testing. Confirm exact site-specific costs before enrollment.

Contact: Hope Veterinary Oncology — 805-626-6551; Bridge Animal Referral Center — 425-697-2272; Washington State University — 509-335-0711; MedVet Clinical Studies — clinicalstudies@medvet.com; MedVet Pittsburgh — oncology.pittsburgh@medvet.com; IVO — 602-841-0626; Veterinary Cancer Concierge Services — info@vetcancerconcierge.com.

Participating locations

  • Hope Veterinary Oncology, 1885 Knoll Drive, Ventura, CA 93003, Ventura, CA
  • Bridge Animal Referral Center, 8401 Main St, Edmonds, WA 98026, Edmonds, WA
  • WSU Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 205 Ott Rd, Pullman, WA 99164
  • MedVet Salt Lake City, 331 W Bearcat Dr, Salt Lake City, UT 84115
  • MedVet Cleveland, 20400 Emerald Pkwy, Cleveland, OH 44135
  • MedVet Pittsburgh, 2810 Washington Rd, McMurray, PA 15317
  • MedVet Cincinnati, 3964 Red Bank Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45227
  • IVO Integrative Veterinary Oncology, 2501 N. 32nd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008, Phoenix, AZ
  • Veterinary Cancer Concierge Services, 1086 Long Ridge Road, Stamford, CT 06903, Stamford, CT

Official study / enrollment information →

PIVOT-C intratumoral FVRCP vaccine therapy for feline oral tumors

NC State College of Veterinary Medicine · USA

Actively recruiting — enrollment finish December 31, 2027

What is being offered: 28-day pilot treatment study with weekly intratumoral FVRCP vaccine injections on days 0, 7, 14, 21 and 28. Cats cannot receive surgery or radiation while enrolled; those treatments may be considered after study completion or early exit.

Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Oral mass

May not qualify if: Concurrent surgery; Concurrent local radiation

Costs / coverage: Confirm study-covered and owner-paid costs with the investigator.

Contact: Dr. Joanne Intile / NC State — see official trial page

Location

  • NC State Veterinary Hospital, 1052 William Moore Dr, Raleigh, NC 27607

Official study / enrollment information →

Tumor-microenvironment modification plus allogeneic vaccine for metastatic canine osteosarcoma

Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine · USA

Actively recruiting — confirmed on the institution’s current clinical-trials page

What is being offered: For dogs with pulmonary metastatic osteosarcoma after amputation and chemotherapy; combines toceranib, losartan and ladarixin with a tumor vaccine.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Primary removed; Measurable lung metastases; Post amputation; Prior chemo; Metastatic

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Study provides the oral drugs and tumor vaccines and covers nearly all study costs; limited specified bloodwork/supportive medications remain owner-paid.

Contact: clinicaltrials@tufts.edu

Location

  • Henry and Lois Foster Hospital for Small Animals, 200 Westboro Rd, North Grafton, MA 01536

Official study / enrollment information →

AAV Cancer Vaccine for Canine Oral Melanoma

University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine · USA

Open and enrolling

What is being offered: Novel adeno-associated virus (AAV) cancer vaccine

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. The study covers all study-associated visit costs and provides a $4,000 credit toward local surgery or radiation therapy performed at the University of Minnesota; owners pay any local-therapy cost above the credit.

Contact: University of Minnesota Clinical Investigation Center — 612-624-2485; Canine Brain Tumor Program clinical-trials coordinator Sara Pracht

Location

  • University of Minnesota Veterinary Medical Center, 1365 Gortner Ave, St Paul, MN 55108

Official study / enrollment information →

Personalized mRNA-LNP immunotherapy for canine malignant tumors

PETcura (宝科雅) multicenter IIT · China

Recruiting — limited enrollment

What is being offered: Official study page updated 2026-08-15. Exploratory multicenter IIT for canine malignant tumors using fresh tumor plus paired adjacent normal tissue for >=50G RNA sequencing, neoantigen selection and personalized mRNA-LNP immunotherapy. T-cell lymphoma and brain tumors are explicitly excluded and therefore are not mapped to this record. Requires histologic or cytologic confirmation, age >=2 years, generally weight >=5 kg (smaller dogs may be individually assessed), fresh tumor and paired normal tissue obtainable at surgery; dogs already operated may still be considered if tissue was correctly frozen. Also requires adequate performance status/labs and successful LNP tolerance testing. Excludes recent chemotherapy/radiation/high-dose corticosteroids within 2 weeks, severe infection/autoimmune disease/immunodeficiency, pregnancy/lactation, and expected survival <6 months. Owners pay some sampling/freezing/sequencing costs; personalized mRNA design/manufacture is funded by PETcura.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min age years: 2

May not qualify if: Tcell lymphoma lineage

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. PETcura fully funds design and manufacture of the personalized mRNA product; owners pay part of the sampling, specimen-storage and sequencing service costs. The project provides the detailed amount during enrollment assessment.

Contact: WeChat: petcura; project team matches eligible owners with a participating veterinarian/hospital.

Location

  • Beijing, 2 hospitals, China

Enrollment area

  • Beijing, 2 hospitals, China
  • Shanghai, 1 hospital, China
  • Guangzhou, 1 hospital, China
  • Hangzhou, 2 hospitals, China
  • Nanjing, 2 hospitals, China
  • Shenzhen, 1 hospital, China
  • Shenyang, 1 hospital, China
  • Chengdu, 1 hospital, China
  • Chongqing, 1 hospital, China

The public study listing names a partner-hospital network rather than a specific hospital. Confirm the assigned hospital with the study team.

Official study / enrollment information →

PT001 PD-L1/CTLA-4 recombinant protein therapeutic vaccine for stage II-III canine oral malignant melanoma

Protect Animal Health (寶泰生醫) multicenter field trial · Taiwan

Recruiting — multicenter field trial

What is being offered: Official sponsor recruitment notice dated 2025-10-26 remains publicly listed; sponsor subsequently announced regulatory approval to conduct the Taiwan field trial on 2025-11-03 and continues to describe PT001 as an active oncology development program in 2026. Multicenter randomized open-label two-arm field trial of PT001, a PD-L1 and CTLA-4 recombinant-protein therapeutic vaccine, for confirmed stage II-III canine oral malignant melanoma. Age >=1 year. Owners must agree to suspend other cancer treatment. Excludes severe liver/kidney disease, autoimmune disease, bone-marrow disease or other high-risk systemic disease, dogs requiring steroids/immunosuppressants, and prior radiation. Tumor must be recordable/measurable. Trial contains a control arm. Final screening by study site is required.

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min age years: 1; Measurable; Oral melanoma stage ii or iii; Other treatments suspended

May not qualify if: Prior local radiation; Current steroids; Immunosuppressive

Costs / coverage: The current protocol page does not state which treatment, testing or follow-up costs are covered; confirm directly with the study team.

Contact: Participating veterinary hospitals listed on the official recruitment page; screening through the study sites.

Participating locations

  • National Taiwan University Veterinary Hospital, No. 153, Sec. 3, Keelung Rd, Da'an Dist, Taipei City 10672, Taiwan
  • Evergreen Animal Hospital, No. 78 Guangzhou St, Wanhua Dist, Taipei City, Taiwan
  • Duma Animal Hospital, No. 136 Zhongyuan St, Zhonghe Dist, New Taipei City, Taiwan
  • National Chung Hsing University Veterinary Teaching Hospital, No. 21, Sec. 1, Xiangshang Rd, West Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan
  • Bubble Animal Hospital, No. 102, Sec. 1, Longde Rd, Nantun Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan
  • Jimmy Harry Animal Hospital, No. 250 Dasheng St, Nantun Dist, Taichung City 408, Taiwan
  • Woke Animal Hospital, No. 776, Sec. 4, Wenxin Rd, Beitun Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan

Official study / enrollment information →

Postoperative experimental vaccine for dogs with appendicular osteosarcoma

University of Queensland — UQ VETS Small Animal Hospital · Australia

Recruiting — listed on current UQ VETS and School of Veterinary Science trial pages

What is being offered: Surgery followed by two doses of a study vaccine designed to stimulate an anticancer immune response

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; No metastasis; Planned surgery; Appendicular location

Costs / coverage: 🟡 The experimental vaccine is provided at no charge. UQ does not publish coverage for surgery and other veterinary care; confirm all additional costs with the study team.

Contact: Apply via UQ's trial webform; Dr José Granados Soler — j.granados@uq.edu.au

Location

  • UQ VETS Small Animal Hospital, UQ Veterinary Medical Centre (Building 8156), Cnr Main Drive and Outer Ring Road, Gatton QLD 4343, Australia, Gatton, Queensland

Official study / enrollment information →

Personalized mRNA therapeutic cancer vaccine for canine mast cell tumor

Gamgee — Australian multicenter veterinary trial · Australia

Currently enrolling — Australian clinical trial

What is being offered: Patient-specific therapeutic mRNA neoantigen vaccine after tumor and blood sampling; administered by the treating veterinarian

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required

Costs / coverage: 💬 Study pricing and coverage are not publicly stated. Gamgee says its coordinator explains potential costs and what may be covered after registration; confirm biopsy, sequencing, vaccine, veterinary care and travel costs before agreeing.

Contact: Owner application at gamgee.io/apply/; veterinary referrals via gamgee.io/vet/ or partners@gamgee.io; questions: hello@gamgee.io

Location

  • Australia

Official study / enrollment information →

Autologous tumour vaccine with doxorubicin after surgery for canine splenic hemangiosarcoma

University of Melbourne multicentre study — MediPaws Sydney site · Australia

Recruiting at MediPaws Sydney — participating site confirms active enrolment

What is being offered: Autologous tumour vaccine prepared from the resected splenic tumour, added to standard doxorubicin chemotherapy

Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; No metastasis; Splenic primary; Post splenectomy; Planned doxorubicin

Costs / coverage: 🟡 The autologous tumour vaccine is free. Owners pay for standard veterinary care, including doxorubicin chemotherapy and associated costs.

Contact: MediPaws oncology, Dr Sonya Yu: 1800 678 387; contact via the MediPaws clinical research page

Location

  • MediPaws, 233 Catherine Street, Leichhardt NSW 2040, Australia, Sydney, New South Wales

Official study / enrollment information →

Survivin peptide cancer vaccine for dogs

Nippon Veterinary and Life Science University Veterinary Medical Center · Japan

Currently recruiting on the official clinical-research roster through March 31, 2027

What is being offered: The study gives a survivin-targeted peptide vaccine to dogs with cancer and evaluates treatment effect and immune compatibility. The official page describes use for dogs in complete or partial remission, after surgery or radiation to reduce recurrence risk, or after recurrence when further standard treatment is difficult. Tumor survivin expression can be tested; the page also allows owner-requested vaccination when tissue cannot be sampled, subject to study-team review and post-mortem pathology consent. Initial treatment is a half-day visit, a second vaccine follows one week later, then dosing continues every two weeks to one month. Final eligibility is determined by the investigator.

Who may qualify: Survivin expression or postmortem consent

Costs / coverage: The official protocol page does not state which vaccine, screening, or routine-care costs are covered; confirm all owner costs with the study team.

Contact: NVLU Veterinary Medical Center clinical-research inquiry — rinri-shinsa@nvlu.ac.jp; 0422-31-4151

Location

  • Nippon Veterinary and Life Science University Veterinary Medical Center, 1-7-1 Kyonancho, Musashino, Tokyo 180-8602, Japan, Musashino, Tokyo

Official study / enrollment information →

Autogenic tumor-RNA vaccine for Boxer dogs with suspected malignant glioma

University of Florida · USA

Currently recruiting on the official neurology index and protocol heading

What is being offered: Autogenic vaccine prepared from RNA extracted from the patient's glioma biopsy; three weekly vaccinations beginning two weeks after biopsy

Who may qualify: Boxer breed

Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Study covers CT-guided tumor biopsy and lymph-node removal, associated anesthesia/recovery, study vaccines, and research sample collection/analysis. Other visit/care costs are not itemized and must be discussed at evaluation.

Contact: Neurology Staff, University of Florida Small Animal Hospital: 352-392-2235; official Study Interest Form. PI: Dr. Sheila Carrera-Justiz.

Location

  • UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608

Official study / enrollment information →