Immunotherapy clinical trials for dogs and cats
Immunotherapy is not one treatment. The listings here include checkpoint inhibitors, engineered immune cells, intratumoral immune treatments and other approaches intended to help the immune system recognize or attack cancer.
39current studies and treatment programs in this category
Some studies combine immunotherapy with surgery, chemotherapy or radiation. The exact drug or cell product, diagnosis, disease stage and previous treatment all matter.
Current listings
One study may appear under more than one treatment type when it combines approaches. Review the full eligibility criteria and confirm current enrollment with the study team.
Intratumoral immunotherapy for canine oral malignant tumors
VetAgro Sup — Service of Cancerology · France
Current study listed by VetAgro Sup CICV with a study-specific owner appointment route
What is being offered: VetAgro Sup and FINDIMMUNE study intratumoral treatment of canine oral melanoma and oral squamous cell carcinoma: 10 visits over six months, injections at days 1/30/90 and follow-up at days 7/15/60/120/150/180. A selection visit confirms diagnosis. The CICV current-studies index links this protocol. Detailed stage/weight/metastasis/prior-treatment filters are retained conservatively from Oncowaf, not represented as independently primary-confirmed; study-team prescreening is required.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Measurable; Min weight kg: 5; No metastasis
May not qualify if: Current steroids; Prior chemo; Prior local radiation; Prior immunotherapy
Costs / coverage: The study treatment is free and medical follow-up is fully covered. The initial selection/diagnostic visit and travel costs are not specified; confirm with VetAgro Sup.
Contact: Oncology appointment: +33 4 78 87 26 70; CICV study questions: cicv@vetagro-sup.fr
Location
- Centre hospitalier universitaire vétérinaire des animaux de compagnie, 1 avenue Bourgelat, 69280 Marcy-l'Étoile, France
Official study / enrollment information →
Tigilanol tiglate immunotherapy for canine oral melanoma
Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies — Kelly Blacklock · UK
Ongoing — listed in the current ESVONC monthly oncology trial overview
What is being offered: Current UK treatment study using intratumoral tigilanol tiglate immunotherapy for dogs with oral melanoma. The public European listing does not give full eligibility criteria; investigator prescreening is required before travel.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required
Costs / coverage: Confirm study-covered and owner-paid costs with the investigator.
Contact: Kelly Blacklock — kelly.blacklock@ed.ac.uk
Location
- Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, Easter Bush Campus, Midlothian EH25 9RG, UK
Official study / enrollment information →
RNA-nanoparticle vaccine plus anti-PD-1 for canine appendicular osteosarcoma
University of Florida · USA
Currently enrolling
What is being offered: RNA-nanoparticle vaccine made from UF-collected tumor cells plus anti-PD-1, both administered by approximately 30-minute IV infusion; hospital monitoring for 6–24 hours after each vaccine administration. Core biopsy is performed during radiation-planning CT before radiation. Distinct from UF's owner-paid post-amputation vaccine-plus-chemotherapy protocol. Referring veterinarian must complete UF's Oncology Referral Form.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Planned radiation; Pretreatment biopsy; Appendicular location
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Owners pay standard diagnosis and treatment, including initial evaluation, diagnostics, imaging, bloodwork, and radiation planning/treatment. The study covers RNA-vaccine production, vaccine-associated exams, immune-marker and safety laboratory testing at vaccine visits, indicated urinalysis, and adverse events on vaccine-administration days. Selected cases may receive imaging and/or radiation coverage. For immediate anaphylaxis within 12 hours of vaccination, up to an additional $1,000 of complication treatment may be covered.
Contact: UF Oncology Staff — (352) 392-2235; Study Interest Form / Oncology Referral Form on the official study page
Location
- UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608
Official study / enrollment information →
Local T-cell engager immunotherapy before surgery for canine soft tissue sarcoma
Multicenter local T-cell-engager STS immunotherapy · USA
VRCCO is currently enrolling; confirm WSU intake separately
What is being offered: One local T-cell-engager protocol, AVMA study 534230, previously represented by two active catalog records. Current VRCCO primary evidence describes CD3/CD28 T-cell engagement targeting B7-H3/PD-L1, injected into the tumor, followed by standard surgical removal approximately one week later. There is no placebo. VRCCO eligibility includes cutaneous soft tissue sarcoma over 1.7 cm and body weight at least 5 kg. Previously published WSU criteria required easily accessible STS at least 2 cm; the WSU page could not be read in this audit, so its present intake and site-specific criteria require confirmation. Do not apply VRCCO-specific thresholds to the unverified WSU cohort.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Measurable; Planned surgery; Min weight kg: 5
Costs / coverage: VRCCO provides a $1,500 surgery credit and covers study-related ICU stays, bloodwork and medications. The previously published WSU offer was a $1,000 medical credit plus study-related ICU, medications and bloodwork; that WSU offer was not independently reverified today. Owners pay uncovered standard surgical/diagnostic care.
Contact: VRCCO / Dr. Kristen Couto — official clinical-trial page. WSU: Jennifer Heusser — jpmarcus3@wsu.edu; 509-592-3668; current WSU intake needs reconfirmation.
Participating locations
- WSU Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 205 Ott Rd, Pullman, WA 99164
- VRCCO East, 62889 NE Oxford Ct, Bend, OR 97701
Official study / enrollment information →
CAR T cell immunotherapy for treatment of metastatic osteosarcoma in dogs
Colorado State University Flint Animal Cancer Center · USA
Active - Recruiting
What is being offered: Appendicular OSA primary removed; measurable metastasis limited to lungs; dog ≥20 kg. No chemotherapy in preceding 2–3 weeks; no current steroids or immune-modifying medication. Blood collection about two weeks before treatment, preparatory chemotherapy, CAR T-cell infusion and daily oral medications; visits days 1, 3, 7, 14, 28, 60.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Metastatic; Active tumor required; Primary removed; Measurable lung metastases; Min weight kg: 20; Appendicular location; Prior surgery; Planned chemo
May not qualify if: Metastases outside lungs; Concurrent immunomodulatory drugs; Corticosteroids; Current steroids; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Owners pay initial cancer diagnostics and examination fees at every study visit. Study treatment, CAR T-cell manufacture/infusion, study diagnostics and bloodwork are covered; screening assistance is available, with up to $2,000 for study-related side effects.
Contact: CSU Flint Animal Cancer Center Clinical Trials — (970) 297-4001; online clinical-trial consult form
Location
- Flint Animal Cancer Center, 300 W Drake Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80523
Official study / enrollment information →
Gilvetmab treatment study for canine malignant melanoma
Ethos Veterinary Health · USA
Now enrolling patients
What is being offered: Safety and efficacy study of gilvetmab in dogs with malignant melanoma; age ≥1 year.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min weight lb: 6.6; Active tumor required; Min age years: 1
Costs / coverage: 🟢 Fully funded. All study-related visits are covered at no cost to the pet owner.
Contact: Contact participating Ethos hospital through official study page.
Participating locations
- Metropolitan Veterinary Hospital, 734 Alpha Dr, Highland Heights, OH 44143
- Summit Veterinary Referral Center, 2505 S 80th St, Tacoma, WA 98409
- Veterinary Specialty Hospital, 10435 Sorrento Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92121
Official study / enrollment information →
CAALM: UCD-PDL1 immunotherapy for oral melanoma metastatic to lung
UC Davis Veterinary Center for Clinical Trials · USA
Active - Recruiting
What is being offered: Protocol VCCT-24-012 enrolls dogs with cytology- or biopsy-confirmed oral melanoma and at least one lung nodule consistent with metastasis. Dogs receive up to six biweekly UCD-PDL1 antibody treatments over 98 days. Recent chemotherapy, immunotherapy or corticosteroids within two weeks and uncontrolled comorbidity may exclude enrollment.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Metastatic; min expected survival weeks: 4 weeks; Active tumor required; Measurable lung metastases; Min weight kg exclusive: 15; Max weight kg exclusive: 36; chemotherapy washout: 14 days; steroid washout days: 14 days
May not qualify if: Prior checkpoint inhibitor
Costs / coverage: 🟢 Study-supported. UCD-PDL1 treatments, required diagnostics and imaging, and management of study-related adverse events up to $2,000 are covered; owners pay pre-enrollment consultation and eligibility diagnostics.
Contact: UC Davis VCCT — vcct@ucdavis.edu; 530-754-1954
Location
- UC Davis Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, 1 Garrod Dr, Davis, CA 95616
Official study / enrollment information →
Radiation plus intratumoral IL-12 immunotherapy for canine osteosarcoma
University of Illinois · USA
Current funded oncology clinical trial
What is being offered: Radiation to the affected limb followed by intratumoral JEN-101 at day 2 and week 2, then amputation at week 4
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Appendicular location; No metastasis; Planned radiation; Planned amputation
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior local radiation; Prior immunotherapy; Prior steroids; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: Partially funded after eligibility: radiation, JEN-101 and associated treatment-visit charges; follow-up abdominal ultrasound and chest radiographs; and up to $2,500 toward amputation at Illinois are covered. Owner pays screening, recheck exams/bloodwork and remaining amputation cost.
Contact: Rebecca Kamerer, Clinical Trials Coordinator — rmoss81@illinois.edu · 217-300-6453; appointments 217-333-5300
Location
- University of Illinois Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 1008 W Hazelwood Dr, Urbana, IL 61802
Official study / enrollment information →
CAR T-cell immunotherapy plus verdinexor for canine glioma
Colorado State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital · USA
Active - Recruiting
What is being offered: CSU protocol IACUC 5335 enrolls dogs over 10 lb with a presumptive or confirmed glioma. The protocol combines autologous engineered CAR T cells with oral verdinexor; radiation therapy is optional. Dogs may not have received prior chemotherapy or radiation. CSU lists recruitment through December 31, 2028; final neurologic and anesthesia eligibility requires study-team prescreening.
Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Planned radiation; Planned chemo; Min weight kg exclusive: 4.535923700100354
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior radiation
Costs / coverage: 🟢 Fully funded. CSU states that CAR T-cell production and treatment, optional radiation therapy, MRIs, study examinations and bloodwork, and lifetime verdinexor chemotherapy are covered.
Contact: CSU Neurology Clinical Trials — csuneurotrials@colostate.edu; 970-297-4405
Location
- Flint Animal Cancer Center, 300 W Drake Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80523
Official study / enrollment information →
GD2/3 melanoma vaccine + anti-PD1 (gilvetmab) for oral malignant melanoma
University of Florida Veterinary Hospitals · USA
Currently recruiting
What is being offered: GD2/3 vaccine plus four IV gilvetmab infusions; serial tumor biopsies and immune monitoring
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Resectable or minimal; Oral tumor not excised
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. The study covers the anti-PD-1 drug and study-related tumor biopsies; owners pay for vaccines, exam, staging and other treatment costs.
Contact: UF Oncology — 352-392-2235; Study Interest Form + referring-veterinarian Oncology Referral Form required
Location
- UF Small Animal Hospital, 2015 SW 16th Ave, Gainesville, FL 32608
Official study / enrollment information →
Gilvetmab for primary pulmonary carcinoma in dogs
University of Missouri Veterinary Health Center · USA
Currently enrolling
What is being offered: Gilvetmab anti-PD-1 infusion every 2 weeks for up to 10 doses
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required
May not qualify if: Current steroids; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Gilvetmab is covered; owners pay rechecks, bloodwork and chest radiographs.
Contact: Missouri Oncology Clinical Trials Service — 573-882-7821; cvmclinicaltrials@missouri.edu
Location
- University of Missouri Veterinary Health Center, 900 E Campus Dr, Columbia, MO 65211
Official study / enrollment information →
cPD-L1 immunotherapy with vinblastine and deracoxib for canine invasive urothelial carcinoma
Purdue University Veterinary Hospital / Werling Comparative Oncology Research Center · USA
Actively recruiting
What is being offered: cPD-L1 monoclonal antibody, vinblastine and deracoxib in one of three treatment sequences; all dogs receive all three drugs
Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Serum creatinine lte 2; Planned chemo
May not qualify if: Librela; Cytopoint; Current supplements
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Owners pay $300 per Purdue study visit; the study covers the remaining Purdue costs for cancer treatment, response monitoring and management of potential treatment side effects.
Contact: Lindsey Fourez, Purdue clinical trials technician — lfourez@purdue.edu; 765-494-1130
Location
- Purdue University Veterinary Hospital, 625 Harrison St, West Lafayette, IN 47907
Official study / enrollment information →
Neoadjuvant immunotherapy before surgery for canine limb osteosarcoma
North Downs Specialist Referrals (NDSR) · UK
Current clinical trial advertised by NDSR
What is being offered: NDSR states that this study is currently available for dogs with suspected or confirmed osteosarcoma of a limb bone. The immunotherapy product is implanted directly into the tumor before removal. Dogs must be candidates for amputation or limb-sparing surgery and chemotherapy; there is no placebo arm. The associated ESVONC 2026 presentation identified the pilot approach as neoadjuvant recombinant feline IL-2 immunotherapy.
Who may qualify: Localized; No metastasis; Active tumor required; Limb osteosarcoma; Surgery candidate; Chemo candidate; Planned surgery; Planned chemo
Costs / coverage: Confirm trial-specific coverage with NDSR. The clinic states that participants otherwise receive the same surgery and chemotherapy care as other osteosarcoma patients.
Contact: NDSR Oncology Team; pet-owner line +44 (0)1883 741440; vet line +44 (0)1883 741449
Location
- North Downs Specialist Referrals, The Friesian Buildings 3 & 4, Brewerstreet Dairy Business Park, Brewer Street, Bletchingley, Surrey RH1 4QP, UK
Official study / enrollment information →
Evaluation of TLR agonist Z-007 in dogs with cancer
Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University · USA
Recruiting
What is being offered: Dog study of IV or intratumoral Z-007 for solid tumors including carcinomas, sarcomas and melanoma. Public criteria include a generally 2–7 cm repeat-biopsy-accessible tumor plus medical/laboratory requirements; no prior immunotherapy or autoimmune disease. Investigator prescreening required.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min weight kg: 7; Measurable
May not qualify if: Prior immunotherapy
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Z-007 treatment through Day 63 and treatment of Z-007/biopsy-related side effects are covered; other owner costs should be confirmed with Tufts.
Contact: clinicaltrials@tufts.edu
Location
- Henry and Lois Foster Hospital for Small Animals, 200 Westboro Rd, North Grafton, MA 01536
Official study / enrollment information →
Radiation therapy plus XCSgel immunotherapy for canine soft tissue sarcoma
NC State College of Veterinary Medicine · USA
Actively recruiting — enrollment finish August 31, 2027
What is being offered: Blinded study of standard radiation therapy plus XCSgel immunotherapy; all enrolled dogs receive surgery and radiation, while XCSgel versus placebo is blinded. Pathologic confirmation of STS required and no prior radiation or chemotherapy.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Measurable; Min tumor cm: 4; Max tumor cm: 10; Planned surgery; Planned radiation
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior local radiation
Costs / coverage: 🟢 Fully funded — NC State states enrolled dogs receive free testing, treatment and follow-up, including bloodwork, CT, surgery and radiation therapy.
Contact: NC State Clinical Studies Core — see official trial page
Location
- NC State Veterinary Hospital, 1052 William Moore Dr, Raleigh, NC 27607
Official study / enrollment information →
Novel immunotherapy for cats with oral squamous cell carcinoma
Colorado State University Flint Animal Cancer Center · USA
Actively recruiting — listed on CSU current clinical trials page
What is being offered: Four intratumoral immunotherapy injections under anesthesia every three weeks, with CT and biopsies to assess response. Study ends at day 84; all visits at CSU.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Accessible intratumoral target
May not qualify if: Immunosuppressive; Distant metastasis
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Screening support is available for CBC, chemistry, urine testing, lymph-node aspirates and chest radiographs. After acceptance, study examinations, blood tests, anesthesia, four immunotherapy injections, CT and biopsies are covered; up to $1,000 is available for study-related side effects. Owners pay cancer-diagnosis tests and any additional oncologist-recommended tests outside study coverage.
Contact: CSU Flint Animal Cancer Center Clinical Trials — (970) 297-4001; online clinical-trial consult form
Location
- Flint Animal Cancer Center, 300 W Drake Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80523
Official study / enrollment information →
Engineered canine T cells with oral immunotherapy for soft tissue sarcoma
Colorado State University Flint Animal Cancer Center · USA
Actively recruiting — listed on CSU current clinical trials page
What is being offered: Autologous engineered CAR T-cell infusion with oral immunotherapy; tumor resection or repeat biopsy and follow-up
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Min weight kg: 11; chemotherapy washout: 14 days; Pretreatment biopsy; Planned chemo; radiation washout: 14 days
May not qualify if: Prior immunotherapy; Current chemo
Costs / coverage: Study support includes up to $3,200 in study-related treatment costs, $2,000 toward surgery or other treatment, oral immunotherapy medications excluding dispensing fees, and up to $500 for study-related side effects. Owners pay the initial exam/diagnostic testing and surgery costs beyond study support; screening-test assistance is available. Confirm the individual cost estimate with CSU.
Contact: CSU Flint Animal Cancer Center Clinical Trials — (970) 297-4001; online clinical-trial consult form
Location
- Flint Animal Cancer Center, 300 W Drake Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80523
Official study / enrollment information →
FAP CAR-T cell therapy for canine soft tissue sarcoma
Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on the institution’s current clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Dogs need a 2-8 cm soft tissue sarcoma, resectable or non-resectable, adequate CBC/chemistry/urinalysis and no incompatible major heart, liver or kidney disease. Untreated tumors and recurrent tumors after chemotherapy and/or radiation may qualify; chemotherapy must have ended at least 14 days before enrollment. Excludes metastatic disease predicting survival under three months, concurrent experimental cancer therapy, pregnancy/lactation, autoimmune disease other than atopic dermatitis, prior monoclonal checkpoint inhibitor such as gilvetmab, or personalized T-cell vaccine/immunotherapy. At UC Davis the current protocol requires age at least one year and weight at least 11 kg, with eight visits over approximately 70 days; study-related side-effect coverage is capped at $2,500 for Davis care. Historical enrollment at CSU does not alone establish a third currently enrolling site.
Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Min tumor cm: 2; Min weight kg: 11; chemotherapy washout: 14 days; Max tumor cm exclusive: 8
May not qualify if: Pregnant or lactating; Autoimmune disease; Prior checkpoint inhibitor
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. The study covers FAP CAR-T cancer treatment through Day 56, provides $2,000 toward tumor removal, and covers treatment of side effects related to biopsy, cyclophosphamide and FAP CAR-T administration; unrelated care is owner-paid.
Contact: clinicaltrials@tufts.edu
Participating locations
- Henry and Lois Foster Hospital for Small Animals, 200 Westboro Rd, North Grafton, MA 01536
- UC Davis Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, 1 Garrod Dr, Davis, CA 95616
Official study / enrollment information →
Anti-MIC antibody plus adoptive NK-cell therapy for canine soft tissue sarcoma
The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on the institution’s current clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Localized confirmed STS treated with anti-MIC antibody and expanded natural-killer-cell infusion.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Localized
May not qualify if: Prior local radiation; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: All trial-related procedures are covered and $700 compensation is provided upon trial completion.
Contact: Blue Buffalo Veterinary Clinical Trials Office — CVM-ClinicalTrials@osu.edu
Location
- The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center, 601 Vernon L Tharp St, Columbus, OH 43210
Official study / enrollment information →
IL-12/IL-15 treatment for canine oral melanoma
University of Illinois Veterinary Teaching Hospital · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on the institution’s current clinical-trials page
What is being offered: One radiation dose followed by four intratumoral IL-12/IL-15 fusion-peptide injections
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Min age years: 1; Min weight kg: 8; Measurable; Planned radiation; Min tumor cm: 1; Max tumor cm: 5
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior local radiation; Prior immunotherapy; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: Fully funded after eligibility. Owner pays the initial consultation and eligibility diagnostics; unrelated-condition costs remain owner-paid.
Contact: Rebecca Kamerer, Clinical Trials Coordinator — rmoss81@illinois.edu · 217-300-6453; appointments 217-333-5300
Location
- University of Illinois Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 1008 W Hazelwood Dr, Urbana, IL 61802
Official study / enrollment information →
Gilvetmab plus epacadostat for canine bladder urothelial carcinoma
University of Illinois Veterinary Teaching Hospital · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on the institution’s current clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Standard palliative piroxicam and gabapentin plus randomization to gilvetmab alone or gilvetmab with oral epacadostat for six months, followed by six months of observation
Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Measurable; Cytology or braf and visible bladder mass
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior local radiation; Prior immunotherapy
Costs / coverage: Fully funded after eligibility, with up to $500 support for protocol-related adverse events treated at Illinois. Owner pays the initial consultation and eligibility diagnostics.
Contact: Rebecca Kamerer, Clinical Trials Coordinator — rmoss81@illinois.edu · 217-300-6453; appointments 217-333-5300
Location
- University of Illinois Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 1008 W Hazelwood Dr, Urbana, IL 61802
Official study / enrollment information →
Aurelius/Lytix oncolytic peptide plus adoptive T-cell immunotherapy for canine B-cell lymphoma
Aurelius Biotherapeutics · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on Aurelius current pilot-study page
What is being offered: Initial pilot study combining an oncolytic peptide with adoptive T-cell immunotherapy for previously untreated stage 3–5(a) canine B-cell lymphoma. Almost all study treatment is performed in Bellingham, Washington; initial treatment requires about three days, followed by at least two later visits approximately a month afterward.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Previously untreated; Bcell lymphoma stage iii to v a
May not qualify if: Prior cancer treatment; Prior lymphoma treatment; Prior chemo; Prior local radiation; Prior immunotherapy
Costs / coverage: Fully funded; Aurelius states there is no additional expense to owners for the trial.
Contact: Theresa Westfall, DVM — info@aureliusbio.com; (360) 961-3529 or (360) 734-0720
Location
- Aurelius Biotherapeutics, 720 Virginia St, Bellingham, WA 98225
Official study / enrollment information →
Personalized mRNA-LNP immunotherapy for canine malignant tumors
PETcura (宝科雅) multicenter IIT · China
Recruiting — limited enrollment
What is being offered: Official study page updated 2026-08-15. Exploratory multicenter IIT for canine malignant tumors using fresh tumor plus paired adjacent normal tissue for >=50G RNA sequencing, neoantigen selection and personalized mRNA-LNP immunotherapy. T-cell lymphoma and brain tumors are explicitly excluded and therefore are not mapped to this record. Requires histologic or cytologic confirmation, age >=2 years, generally weight >=5 kg (smaller dogs may be individually assessed), fresh tumor and paired normal tissue obtainable at surgery; dogs already operated may still be considered if tissue was correctly frozen. Also requires adequate performance status/labs and successful LNP tolerance testing. Excludes recent chemotherapy/radiation/high-dose corticosteroids within 2 weeks, severe infection/autoimmune disease/immunodeficiency, pregnancy/lactation, and expected survival <6 months. Owners pay some sampling/freezing/sequencing costs; personalized mRNA design/manufacture is funded by PETcura.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min age years: 2
May not qualify if: Tcell lymphoma lineage
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. PETcura fully funds design and manufacture of the personalized mRNA product; owners pay part of the sampling, specimen-storage and sequencing service costs. The project provides the detailed amount during enrollment assessment.
Contact: WeChat: petcura; project team matches eligible owners with a participating veterinarian/hospital.
Location
- Beijing, 2 hospitals, China
Enrollment area
- Beijing, 2 hospitals, China
- Shanghai, 1 hospital, China
- Guangzhou, 1 hospital, China
- Hangzhou, 2 hospitals, China
- Nanjing, 2 hospitals, China
- Shenzhen, 1 hospital, China
- Shenyang, 1 hospital, China
- Chengdu, 1 hospital, China
- Chongqing, 1 hospital, China
The public study listing names a partner-hospital network rather than a specific hospital. Confirm the assigned hospital with the study team.
Official study / enrollment information →
Cryotherapy or intratumoral immunotherapy before amputation for canine osteosarcoma
Johns Hopkins Center for Image-Guided Animal Therapy (CIGAT) · USA
Open and recruiting — listed on the current Johns Hopkins CIGAT clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Treatment trial for histopathologically confirmed canine osteosarcoma. Eligible dogs receive PET-CT and either cryotherapy or two doses of tumor-injected immunotherapy before required amputation at about two weeks, followed by chemotherapy. Johns Hopkins lists no prior osteosarcoma treatment or chemotherapy for other cancers and requires the dog to be systemically healthy apart from osteosarcoma.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Planned amputation and chemo
May not qualify if: Prior chemo; Prior osteosarcoma treatment
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Study covers PET-CT/CT imaging, cryotherapy or intratumoral immunotherapy, study-related medications and follow-up imaging/blood tests; required amputation and chemotherapy are owner-paid.
Contact: Johns Hopkins CIGAT — 410-502-7325; contact through the official clinical-trials page
Location
- Johns Hopkins CIGAT, 600 N Wolfe St, Park 311, Baltimore, MD 21287
Official study / enrollment information →
Fully funded CAR-T cell therapy trial for canine B-cell lymphoma
LEAH Labs / University of Minnesota / Ohio State University / University of Missouri · USA
Missouri enrolling per current institutional protocol; Ohio State enrolling per sponsor with local slot to confirm; Minnesota on hold
What is being offered: One LEAH CAR-T protocol with site-specific cohorts. On October16 the current Missouri study-specific invitation and fresh Web read both explicitly confirm enrolling dogs with spontaneous CD20+ large-cell B-cell lymphoma; the older cached Missouri ON HOLD version is superseded. Missouri includes naive and relapsed patients, >10kg, clinically well, no primary GI or lung involvement, investigator bloodwork clearance, no Apoquel/mycophenolate/cyclosporine/azathioprine and at least72hours off prednisone. It combines lymphodepleting chemotherapy and xenogeneic CAR-T; at least seven visits over21days then longer follow-up. Minnesota current individual protocol remains On hold; its10-50kg and48hour rules must not be generalized to Missouri. Ohio remains enrolling per sponsor; its current institutional index does not name this protocol, so confirm the Ohio slot and local criteria before travel. Missouri-specific eligibility/funding do not establish Ohio or Minnesota terms.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Planned chemo
Costs / coverage: Missouri: study-related initial staging, treatment and rechecks covered; up to$4000 for adverse events and a$2000 stipend for future/additional VHC treatment upon completion. Sponsor describes Ohio enrollment as fully funded; confirm the current Ohio coverage and slot. Minnesota is on hold; its historical stipend/criteria are not generalized to other sites.
Contact: LEAH Labs — info@leahlabs.com; enrollment request form on the official site
Participating locations
- The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center, 601 Vernon L Tharp St, Columbus, OH 43210
- University of Missouri Veterinary Health Center, 900 E Campus Dr, Columbia, MO 65211
Official study / enrollment information →
IL-15 immunotherapy for canine melanoma or osteosarcoma with pulmonary metastasis
Evergreen Animal Hospital (長青動物醫院), Taipei · Taiwan
Recruiting
What is being offered: Official hospital recruitment page. Cytology- or histopathology-confirmed melanoma or osteosarcoma; breed, age, weight and sex unrestricted. Requires pulmonary metastatic lesion >1.0 cm and no life-threatening tumor-related symptoms. Current steroids or other immunosuppressants are not allowed. Owner must attend weekly treatment/follow-up for about 10-12 weeks. IL-15 is given weekly for 8 treatments, by subcutaneous injection and, for pulmonary metastatic disease, also via nebulized inhalation. IL-15 drug is free; diagnostics and supportive medications are owner-paid. IMPORTANT matcher prescreen: official protocol specifically requires a lung metastatic lesion >1.0 cm; current schema cannot encode the 1-cm pulmonary-lesion threshold separately, so final eligibility must confirm this criterion.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Metastatic; Measurable; Measurable lung metastases; Pulmonary lesion cm exclusive: 1
May not qualify if: Current steroids; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. The IL-15 study drug is provided at no charge; owners pay for required tests and supportive medications during treatment.
Contact: Evergreen Animal Hospital main hospital oncology clinic, Taipei; phone 02-23369908. Ask for IL15臨床試驗.
Location
- Evergreen Animal Hospital, No. 78 Guangzhou St, Wanhua Dist, Taipei City, Taiwan
Official study / enrollment information →
PT001 PD-L1/CTLA-4 recombinant protein therapeutic vaccine for stage II-III canine oral malignant melanoma
Protect Animal Health (寶泰生醫) multicenter field trial · Taiwan
Recruiting — multicenter field trial
What is being offered: Official sponsor recruitment notice dated 2025-10-26 remains publicly listed; sponsor subsequently announced regulatory approval to conduct the Taiwan field trial on 2025-11-03 and continues to describe PT001 as an active oncology development program in 2026. Multicenter randomized open-label two-arm field trial of PT001, a PD-L1 and CTLA-4 recombinant-protein therapeutic vaccine, for confirmed stage II-III canine oral malignant melanoma. Age >=1 year. Owners must agree to suspend other cancer treatment. Excludes severe liver/kidney disease, autoimmune disease, bone-marrow disease or other high-risk systemic disease, dogs requiring steroids/immunosuppressants, and prior radiation. Tumor must be recordable/measurable. Trial contains a control arm. Final screening by study site is required.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Min age years: 1; Measurable; Oral melanoma stage ii or iii; Other treatments suspended
May not qualify if: Prior local radiation; Current steroids; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: The current protocol page does not state which treatment, testing or follow-up costs are covered; confirm directly with the study team.
Contact: Participating veterinary hospitals listed on the official recruitment page; screening through the study sites.
Participating locations
- National Taiwan University Veterinary Hospital, No. 153, Sec. 3, Keelung Rd, Da'an Dist, Taipei City 10672, Taiwan
- Evergreen Animal Hospital, No. 78 Guangzhou St, Wanhua Dist, Taipei City, Taiwan
- Duma Animal Hospital, No. 136 Zhongyuan St, Zhonghe Dist, New Taipei City, Taiwan
- National Chung Hsing University Veterinary Teaching Hospital, No. 21, Sec. 1, Xiangshang Rd, West Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan
- Bubble Animal Hospital, No. 102, Sec. 1, Longde Rd, Nantun Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan
- Jimmy Harry Animal Hospital, No. 250 Dasheng St, Nantun Dist, Taichung City 408, Taiwan
- Woke Animal Hospital, No. 776, Sec. 4, Wenxin Rd, Beitun Dist, Taichung City, Taiwan
Official study / enrollment information →
Immunotherapy for canine oral melanoma
The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center · USA
Actively recruiting — confirmed on Ohio State's current clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Current Ohio State treatment study using intratumoral weakened LCMV followed by collection/expansion of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes, with reinfusion if metastatic/progressive disease develops. Public criteria require localized confirmed oral melanoma accessible to injection/biopsy; a randomized control arm does not receive the virus injection but remains eligible for immune-cell collection/reinfusion if disease progresses.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Measurable; Localized; Planned surgery
May not qualify if: Prior local radiation; Current immunosuppressive medications
Costs / coverage: Study covers tumor biopsy, two CT imaging sessions, trial-related blood work, viral reagent/injections, immune-cell collection/priming/reinfusion, plus an $800 post-trial incentive; confirm any remaining owner costs with Ohio State.
Contact: Blue Buffalo Veterinary Clinical Trials Office — CVM-ClinicalTrials@osu.edu
Location
- The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center, 601 Vernon L Tharp St, Columbus, OH 43210
Official study / enrollment information →
B7H3-targeted CAR-iNKT cell therapy for newly diagnosed canine osteosarcoma
Penn Vet Comparative Immunotherapy Program · USA
Actively recruiting — listed on Penn Vet's current Comparative Immunotherapy clinical-trials page
What is being offered: Investigational B7H3-targeted CAR-iNKT cell therapy for dogs with newly diagnosed osteosarcoma. This is a distinct protocol from Penn's CAR-iNKT study for dogs with metastatic osteosarcoma. Treatment is followed by amputation and standard-of-care chemotherapy; full eligibility requires Penn Vet prescreening.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Newly diagnosed; No metastasis; Min weight kg: 23; Appendicular location; Planned amputation and chemo
Costs / coverage: 🟢 Fully funded — Including initial screening; no cost to owners. Screening, confirmatory biopsy/B7H3 testing, CAR-iNKT therapy, amputation/post-op care, standard chemotherapy and study monitoring are covered.
Contact: Mary Beth Boland, CVT — mboland@vet.upenn.edu — (215) 898-5098
Location
- Penn Vet Ryan Veterinary Hospital, 3900 Spruce St, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Official study / enrollment information →
CAR-iNKT cell therapy for canine metastatic osteosarcoma
University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine — Comparative Immunotherapy Program · USA
Active - Recruiting
What is being offered: Phase I B7-H3-targeted CAR-iNKT cell-therapy study for dogs with metastatic osteosarcoma. Penn Vet's official current clinical-trial page is the primary status source; full protocol eligibility requires Penn prescreening.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Metastatic; Post amputation; Prior chemo; Appendicular location; Min weight kg: 18; chemotherapy washout: 56 days; Measurable lung metastases; B7h3 expression and prior carboplatin
Costs / coverage: Penn Vet states costs associated with the study treatment are covered; confirm current screening and non-study costs during prescreening.
Contact: Nicola Mason, BVetMed, PhD, DACVIM, FRCVS — nmason@vet.upenn.edu — (215) 898-3996
Location
- Penn Vet Ryan Veterinary Hospital, 3900 Spruce St, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Official study / enrollment information →
ORBIT: VSV plus anti-PD-1 for canine aggressive lymphoma
University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine · USA
Open and enrolling — Phase 2 VSV plus anti-PD-1
What is being offered: Genetically modified vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) plus anti-PD-1 checkpoint inhibitor
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Min weight kg: 7.5; Aggressive lymphoma
May not qualify if: Indolent lymphoma; Alternative herbal medications
Costs / coverage: Owners pay initial diagnostic exam, bloodwork and urinalysis at screening; after enrollment, study-related visits and treatments are covered up to the stated study maximum.
Contact: University of Minnesota Clinical Investigation Center — 612-624-2485; Canine Brain Tumor Program clinical-trials coordinator Sara Pracht
Location
- University of Minnesota Veterinary Medical Center, 1365 Gortner Ave, St Paul, MN 55108
Official study / enrollment information →
Cellular immunotherapy for canine B-cell lymphoma or leukemia
Penn Vet Comparative Immunotherapy Program · USA
Active - Recruiting
What is being offered: Genetically engineered autologous CAR-T cell treatment for canine B-cell lymphoma or leukemia. Penn Vet's official Comparative Immunotherapy Program clinical-trials page currently lists this study and describes screening, pre-conditioning, treatment and monthly follow-up visits. Primary Penn source governs enrollment status; registry is retained as the secondary study reference.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Min weight kg: 10; chemotherapy washout: 21 days; Bcell lineage and non gi disease
Costs / coverage: Fully funded including initial screening; confirm current coverage with Penn Vet when prescreening.
Contact: Nicola Mason, BVetMed, PhD, DACVIM, FRCVS — nmason@vet.upenn.edu — (215) 898-3996; Mary Beth Boland, CVT — mboland@vet.upenn.edu — (215) 898-5098
Location
- Penn Vet Ryan Veterinary Hospital, 3900 Spruce St, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Official study / enrollment information →
Pilot anti-STEAP1 CAR-T cell therapy for canine histiocytic sarcoma
University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine — Atherton Laboratory / Ryan Hospital · USA
Open to limited enrollment — confirmed by investigator on 2026-09-29; study consent under revision
What is being offered: Autologous anti-STEAP1 CAR-T cells after bendamustine preconditioning
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Measurable
May not qualify if: Current chemo
Costs / coverage: The prior consent form says the study covers protocol-specified diagnostic tests, procedures and treatments. Treatment of complications directly caused by study treatment is covered up to $1,000; the owner pays costs above that limit and care before enrollment, for disease progression or for unrelated conditions. Coverage may change in the revised consent form; confirm with Penn before enrollment.
Contact: Matthew Atherton, BVSc, PhD, DECVIM — mattath@upenn.edu; Penn Vet Ryan Hospital
Location
- Penn Vet Ryan Hospital, 3900 Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, Philadelphia, PA
Official study / enrollment information →
FLASH proton radiation with or without gilvetmab for canine glioma
Penn Vet Ryan Veterinary Hospital · USA
Recruiting
What is being offered: Dogs need histopathologic confirmation of glioma or diagnostic MRI showing a supratentorial lesion consistent with glioma, must be suitable for general anesthesia, and must have a tumor compatible with the FLASH equipment. Systemic chemotherapy or immunotherapy requires a three-week washout; prior gilvetmab is not allowed. All dogs receive three FLASH proton treatments and are randomized to receive or not receive three gilvetmab infusions, with 12 follow-up visits over 11 months.
Who may qualify: Active tumor required; Planned radiation
May not qualify if: Prior gilvetmab; Anesthesia contraindicated
Costs / coverage: 🟡 Partially funded. Owners pay screening diagnostics; after enrollment the sponsor covers three FLASH-RT treatments, examinations, laboratory tests, sedation/anesthesia, CSF taps, gilvetmab infusions and protocol CT/MRI imaging.
Contact: Penn Vet VCIC — 215-573-0302; vcic@vet.upenn.edu
Location
- Penn Vet Ryan Veterinary Hospital, 3900 Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, Philadelphia, PA
Official study / enrollment information →
Caninized anti-PD-1 antibody for canine oral malignant melanoma
Nippon Zenyaku Kogyo multicenter veterinary trial · Japan
Recruiting — corporate registration trial opened August 2026
What is being offered: Japanese veterinary-drug registration trial of an investigational caninized anti-PD-1 antibody for dogs with oral malignant melanoma. The official participating-center notice says eligible dogs attend every two weeks for six visits; cytology or histopathology and other screening are required, and concomitant medications are restricted. The sponsor is Nippon Zenyaku Kogyo. Recruitment began in August 2026 at Japan Small Animal Cancer Center, Yamaguchi University Veterinary Medical Center and Kamogawa Animal Medical Center. Final disease stage, systemic-health and medication eligibility are determined by the site.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required
Costs / coverage: Contact a participating center for study-period care and owner cost responsibilities; the official notice states that costs are explained individually.
Contact: Kamogawa Animal Medical Center owner inquiry form or referral form; 075-600-2552. Yamaguchi University and Japan Small Animal Cancer Center also participate.
Participating locations
- Japan Small Animal Cancer Center, 1-10-4 Higashitokorozawa-wada, Tokorozawa, Saitama 359-0023, Japan, Tokorozawa, Saitama
- Yamaguchi University Veterinary Medical Center, 1677-1 Yoshida, Yamaguchi, Yamaguchi 753-8515, Japan, Yamaguchi, Yamaguchi
- Kamogawa Animal Medical Center, 44 Shimogamo Kamikawara-cho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-0812, Japan, Kyoto, Kyoto
Official study / enrollment information →
Feline-specific anti-PD-1 antibody for cats with cancer
Japan Small Animal Cancer Center · Japan
Recruiting on the official current clinical-trials page; the trial began in August 2025
What is being offered: The official current-trials page says this study uses a feline-specific anti-PD-1 antibody developed by Dr. Takuya Mizuno and began in August 2025. The public page does not list eligible histologies, stage, measurable-disease requirements, prior-treatment rules, dosing, or full medical exclusions; owners or referring veterinarians must contact the investigator for prescreening.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required
Costs / coverage: An institute-authored announcement dated 2025-11-28 describes a partial subsidy for this anti-PD-1 trial, up to an undisclosed cap. Enrollment-assessment costs, unrelated disease treatment and travel are excluded. Current subsidy availability and the remaining owner contribution must be confirmed; the current detailed trial page could not be retrieved in the 2026-10-09 audit.
Contact: Dr. Takuya Mizuno — mizutaku@jsamc.jp; Japan Small Animal Medical Center
Location
- Japan Small Animal Cancer Center, 1-10-4 Higashitokorozawa-wada, Tokorozawa, Saitama 359-0023, Japan, Tokorozawa, Saitama
Official study / enrollment information →
Canine anti-PD-L1 antibody immunotherapy for oral melanoma with lung metastases
Hokkaido University Veterinary Teaching Hospital · Japan
Patients sought on the official current clinical-research page; investigator prescreening required
What is being offered: Investigational canine anti-PD-L1 antibody with regular on-site safety and therapeutic-response assessments
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Metastatic
Costs / coverage: The official clinical-research page does not state study-covered or owner-paid costs; confirm all antibody, screening, monitoring and routine-care costs with the investigator.
Contact: Clinical research team, Dr. Satoru Konnai — huvcr@vetmed.hokudai.ac.jp; hospital appointments 011-706-5239
Location
- Hokkaido University Veterinary Teaching Hospital, Kita 19, Nishi 10, Kita-ku, Sapporo 060-0819, Japan, Sapporo, Hokkaido
Official study / enrollment information →
Anti-PD-1 antibody immunotherapy for canine histiocytic sarcoma
University of Tokyo Veterinary Medical Center · Japan
Currently enrolling on the official clinical-research page; ethics approval July 2026
What is being offered: Tokyo performs the diagnostic biopsy; detectable lesions must remain after biopsy. Dogs must not have received immunosuppressive medication or immunotherapy. Investigational canine anti-PD-1 antibody is infused intravenously every two weeks with on-site response and safety monitoring. The July 2026 date is ethics approval, not an inferred enrollment start. Some large dogs may not qualify; the source gives no numerical weight limit. Full eligibility and owner costs require center prescreening. This HS-specific Tokyo protocol is distinct from the three-center oral-melanoma anti-PD-1 registration trial and the Hokkaido anti-PD-L1 program.
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required
May not qualify if: Prior immunotherapy; Immunosuppressive
Costs / coverage: The official protocol does not state owner costs or study coverage; confirm screening, antibody and follow-up costs with the center.
Contact: University of Tokyo Veterinary Medical Center — 03-5841-5420
Location
- University of Tokyo Veterinary Medical Center, 1-1-1 Yayoi, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0032, Japan, Bunkyo, Tokyo
Official study / enrollment information →
Kv9 intratumoral immunotherapy pilot for accessible solid tumors
Kode Veterinary Sciences — New Zealand multicentre pilot · New Zealand
Recruiting — current official pilot page and owner FAQ
What is being offered: Intratumoral Kv9 immunotherapy, usually up to three treatments about two weeks apart, followed by at least nine monitoring visits over two years
Who may qualify: Confirmed cancer diagnosis required; Active tumor required; Measurable; Accessible intratumoral target; Min tumor cm: 1; Max tumor cm: 5; Kv9 concurrent drugs eligible
May not qualify if: Concurrent chemotherapy
Costs / coverage: Kv9, treatment appointments and study monitoring visits are covered. Owners pay the initial tumor diagnosis and other veterinarian-recommended tests. Unrelated care, pre-existing conditions and agreed exclusions remain owner-paid; travel coverage is not stated.
Contact: Kode Veterinary Sciences clinical study team — study@kodevet9.com; referral through the primary veterinarian
Participating locations
- Onewa Road Veterinary Hospital, 181 Onewa Road, Birkenhead, Auckland 0626, New Zealand, Auckland
- CareVets Glen Eden, 69 West Coast Road, Glen Eden, Auckland 0602, New Zealand, Auckland
- Remuera Veterinary Clinic & Hospital, 23 Ascot Avenue, Remuera, Auckland 1050, New Zealand, Auckland
- CareVets Rototuna, Corner Horsham Downs and Thomas Road, Rototuna, Hamilton 3210, New Zealand, Hamilton
- Vet Services Napier, 170 Taradale Road, Napier 4112, New Zealand, Napier
- Vet Services Dannevirke, 193–195 High Street, Dannevirke 4930, New Zealand, Dannevirke
- Rappaw Central Veterinary Hospital, 73 Kenepuru Drive, Kenepuru, Porirua 5022, New Zealand, Porirua
- CareVets Kilbirnie, 35 Mahora Street, Kilbirnie, Wellington 6022, New Zealand, Wellington
Official study / enrollment information →